In my yearly draw, the card for August was Six of Swords, or what represents crossing the Styx for me. August is definitely a period of transitions for me – it is the month my father died, the month I moved away from Tallinn years ago – and of course the transition between summer and autumn.

I used the Mary-El Tarot for the yearly draw. where the 6 of Swords depicts Raphael guiding Tobias through a long journey at the end of which he heals him from blindness. The inner child is led by Raphael, who banishes ignorance and darkness.

protonfactory_canvas_6s12x18c_center_1412696830
Mary-El Tarot by Marie White

Niccoletta Ceccoli shows us an entirely different image, where a dead child sails over a sea of forgotten toys. She is wearing a bow, suggesting that she is a gift doll as well, abandoned by her owner. The bunny rabbit is crying – perhaps also abandoned. The bunny has wings, a soft allusion. There is a saying that always gives me chills “one day, your parents put you down and never picked you up again. This is what this image feels like – when our inner child is forgotten, the toys forsaken in a deep sea of regret and yearn. Nostalgia.

a437114a509b98f87a796c8ab2864639
Six of Swords – Ceccoli Tarot by Niccoletta Ceccoli

In the Wildwood Tarot, we see another depiction of a transition:

51f442d2cdbaad6bd580cea3c44b06fe
Wildwood Tarot Six of Arrows

The night waters, swan and the full moon speak of the same aspects – yearning, leaving things behind. Notice he sails away from the sunset, not knowing what lies ahead in the dark night, not knowing the threats.

85f10e683d1876b2105b074a8570dd1f

The Fountain Tarot focuses on the journey, the blades that point at you are blades of the past. I also get a feeling of a swift transition, like a sling that has been tense for too long and now let loose.

What have I done in August?

Bought myself a white piano on my father’s eight death anniversary.

Took a week off to reflect.

Dyed my hair.

Wrote three new songs.

One of them was called, Hear the Wind Sing.

