When you are bored of Tarot or just want to take a quick break – or try another divination method – here are a few that I have used over the years. Add your favourites in the comments!

Runes

Most common Runes are Futhark runes, widely used in Nordic countries up to 13th century. There are also Armanen runes, used in Germanic magical practices (present in Haindl Tarot deck), and local and personal runes. Some magical and and mystical runes outside alphabets exist as well, not to mention bind runes. There is a heap of information widely available on the Internet and in bookstores regarding runes. Just one important piece of advice – rune divination kit is best made by the reader themselves. Making your own rune kit is relatively easy and cheap.

runes
Tossing Futhark runes 

 

Geomancy 

Remember the last time you spaced out and dotted on the edge of a Post-It note? Well, find that slip of paper and connect the dots, because you are in for a reading! Very popular during Middle Ages and Renaissance, geomancy was once considered to be one of the seven forbidden arts. Compiling a geomancy reading is easy and fun, and material is readily available, for example here.

 

515px-geomantic_figures-svg
The sixteen geomantic figures 

 

I Ching 

I’ve got to say, I love I Ching. In the modern, urban world, I often use an app on my phone, or a Web-based generator, but when I have the time, I love to go through the entire process of tossing a coin, drawing the lines out and building the hexagrams. I find I Ching readings incredibly accurate – but obviously they are not something you can use every day. I Ching is a free and public resource, but for cartomancers there are I Ching decks available as well (Dead Moon and Holitzka among the most famous ones).

french_polished_yarrow_stalks_from_lpkaster
Yarrow sticks originally used for I Ching readings instead of Chinese coins like today 

Obi 

West African divination method popular in the Yoruba religion and Santeria in America. Usually, kola nuts or cowrie shells are used, but pieces of coconut shells work as well (one side white, the other side black). The reader uses four shells and determines the yes/no result by counting the way shells land, either white or black.

300px-obicoconut2
Obi reading with coconut shells via readersandrootworkers.org

Mah Jong 

Yes, you read it right. It’s not just a fun Windows pastime, but actually a complex and accurate divination system. You can either buy a beautiful Mahjong set and use actual tiles, or you can pick up a deck of Mahjong oracle cards. SerenaPowers.com is one of the resources that offers meanings to the Mahjong symbols, but you can find others easily as well. I own a beautiful Mahjong deck which I wrote about here.

55194221_487cc9b0fb_b
Mahjong Tiles 

Dowsing 

Coming from a very naturalistic Nordic country (also the least religious in the world), we still use a lot of “old skills” – such as dowsing to find the right spot to build a well. When I was a child, I would use a sprig or a small branch for dowsing, and I was very young when I got my first pendulum. Dowsing can be used for simple yes/no readings or more complex readings over drawn sheets that feature alphabet, different answers, or whatever you come up with. It is extremely easy to make your own pendulum.

70589378_68a6939551_b

